Rain water irrigation system?

Reaction score
As the rain water runs off the roof, down the piping it just drains onto the lawn right beside my garden. The water doesn't have Anywhere to go so it just pools in the area causing major problems (yard is sinking taking patio, deck and stairway along with it)

So what I was thinking was having it drain into my garden which is situated right beside the drainage. I was going to lay bed rock at the bottom of the garden, run large diameter piping (probably 3-4") throughout the bedrock with holes throughout the pipe to allow the water to drain into the garden into the bedrock. I was then going to continue the pipe out of the garden, under the lawn to the back of the yard away from the house.

I have to get this water away from the house but I thought having it run through the garden might not be such a bad idea...or is it?

Reaction score
i've done some of that, but i'm far from an expert to say what way would be best. none of what i tried runs through a garden though. not because i think it is or isn't better, it just wasn't the idea at the time (i was thinking use harvested water in a future garden during dry periods).

i try to harvest a lot of it in some big tanks, some runs into a little pond system, and the overflow from both run out to a drainage ditch that runs bettween the houses behind my house. it doesn't work perfectly, and if it rains enough it all gets overpowered anyway, but i think it helps at the beginning of rains (or shorter showers) and maybe drains the yard off a little quicker.

it's kind of it's own adiction though, once you start fooling with it. if it's a warm rain i'm liable to be out in it looking to see how it's all working and what i can improve (i'm considering a small version of what you're describing on the other side of my yard. an artificial dry creek bed). i sometimes wonder what people who might see me standing around in the rain might be thinking.

Reaction score