Who does raised beds or square foot gardening?

Reaction score
I did my first garden here and used raised beds. I bought Mel Bartholomew's book "All New Square Foot Gardening". I love that it takes up such little space and that I can plant so much in one area!! I am also very neat and tidy so the organanized look also made me a bit giddy! :)

I did nine large pots of tomatoes and they grew like mad. In my beds I did cucumber in the back and carrots, radishes, alpine strawberries and beets in the front squares. They all grew like crazy except the beets. Not sure what happened there.

I did a mix of nice black soil, alpaca manure, rabbit manure and compost. I also added peat and vermiculite. It held moisture well and I only had to water once in the evening!
I will do it this way again next year and plan to add more beds!

Anyone else do this method?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I've never used a raised bed before, but I've thought about it. I really like the idea of the elevated beds, the ones at table height where you don't have to bend over. I think you'd have less issues with cutting worms and other pests. They'd really have to work for it, lol.

With something like this, you could probably grow something that liked shade underneath.

-outdoor-planters.jpg

Reaction score
We are planning to build some like that for my husbands aunt. She has had her hip replaced and has terrible arthritis but still spend a lot of time gardening. I showed her a picture and she got so excited that she wouldn't have to bend over, squat or kneel and kill her knees!

This is what I picture for her!

tabletopgarden.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
That's awesome Danni! I'll bet she can't wait to get started with the elevated beds. I've been reading up on the implications of using wood and whether or not it should be treated. It seems if you want to be organic you'll just have to leave it natural.