Starting seeds for spring this weekend. anyone else getting started?

Reaction score
Tomorrow, I'm planting my tomato seeds! I start them on my very sunny back porch and bring them in if there is a frost warning. I'm in North/Central Florida. In addition to beefsteaks and some cherry tomatoes (my faves! yum!) I'm trying some heirloom varieties this year that I received in a swap and I have no idea how well they will do because they came from across the country!
Has anyone else out there got started with seed planting this early?

Reaction score
I'm afraid I haven't got the Florida climate, but I've still started a load of seeds off:)

They are in my custom built 'grow cabinet'. Its a cupboard, with an LED array (in the right bandwidths for photosynthesis) and a heat mat in it. I've got a load of flower seedlings in there, sown on new years day and doing nicely.

Reaction score
Sounds like a great set up clueless1.

I'm a bit of a beginner, although I grew up with a mom with an amazing green thumb!

I'm very low tech and low budget at the moment. When I bring in my seedlings, in case of frost, I just put them near a window in the one room I keep my plant-destroying cats out of, and then put them back out after the frost.

I have seen some wonderful indoor growing rooms and one day hope to have a dedicated space for indoor seedlings, etc. I enjoy growing from seeds and am interested in expanding my experiments in propagation in the future.

Reaction score
I'm a bit of a beginner, although I grew up with a mom with an amazing green thumb!