First time starting seeds...roots coming out of the bottom already?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi-

This is my first time starting seeds. My vegetables are just starting to germinate and when I lifted up the trays to put water in the bottom, I noticed that the roots were coming out of the bottom of the trays.

I am assuming I need to move them to bigger containers? And when I transplant them to new containers do I need to use the seed starting mix or use regular potting soil so they can get nutrients?

Attachments

• IMG_5849.JPG
    IMG_5849.JPG
    263.8 KB · Views: 306
  • IMG_5850.JPG
    IMG_5850.JPG
    158.9 KB · Views: 296
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA 10a - Sunset 22
Country
United States
Roots out the bottom typically mean they are ready to go. It looks like a green beans off to the fast start. I am a little hesitant that the roots are that big but the plant doesn't seem to be quite heads up yet? I would think that you'd probably want to put it in the ground soon, once it is fully erect (head sup) and leaves out. A littl emor time in the sun should do it. I started some Snow Peas and Bush Beans in trays just the same as you did.

Keep in mind will need a bunch of containers to get edible portions.

Typically the larger seeds (peas, beans, cucumbers) will germinate quickly and large, where as a tomato will be a little slower, a little smaller. I'm a little surprised a few of the other larger vegetable haven't sprouted? I do see a few of the tomatoes up.

The cherry tomatoes might look a little leggy, but it could be too early to tell. Be sure everything stays lightly moist and gets plenty of sun/light. Just prior to transplantation or upon transplanting, if they have been in a sheltered area leave them out to late evening.... put them put early in the morning... so they can acclimate the outdoor temperature (hardening) before going out permanently.