Sowing clover in a border between small trees and shrubs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to gardening. I have made a border that has small trees and shrubs. Is it ok to sow dwarf or white/red clover between the trees and shrubs. For ground cover weed suppression and adding nitrogen to the border soil.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
Yes! It will be really good for your trees and soil.

I have clover absolutely everywhere. When it's very dry (as it is now) you might have better luck sowing the clover in plug trays then planting them out later. It'll take hold and spread very quickly.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi and thank you,

I hoped it would be so. When I googled it I could only find advice on adding clover to lawns. The border is rectangular and edged with large cobble setts, but I am not worried about it spreading to my lawn as I am going to sow the white/red mix through that.

Thanks ever so much for replying
Gavin

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
You're very welcome.

It may or may not be of interest, but 'tree guilds' might give you some more ideas along this theme. It's really for fruit trees, but basic principles apply. It's part of permaculture gardening approach.

I have a small 'food forest' in my garden - just a few trees, but I planted all the supporting plants along side them and it looks amazing. There might be some ideas and inspiration for you along these lines.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I looked into the tree guild idea. I hadn't heard of it. I found this lovely illustration as example. I have room in my garden for another border so it may be a project for the autumn.
I hope to sow the clover seeds soon, when this hot dry spell is over.
Regards and best wishes
Gavin

Attachments

• tree guild.jpeg
    tree guild.jpeg
    147.4 KB · Views: 2
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom