Newbie - Growing Indoors

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, everyone. I'm wanting to start an indoor herb garden inside of my apartment. Because of the size, I am interested in doing a vertical garden, like the one shown in the picture below. Since I won't have the space outdoors, I'll need to keep it inside.

It takes two of the following systems, runs a pipe through the middle, and puts a small sprinkler on top. This is put on a timer. ( Akro-Mils RZJMEDI Medium Stack-A-Pot, 30-Quart https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002IYHIKG/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_OSkOvbA846F14 ) I was thinking about hanging a grow light above it, to give it adequate lighting.

My main question/concern is, do y'all think it would work? Or, would y'all recommend a different way of doing this? I'm wanting to grow a different variety of herbs: mint, parsley, basil, etc. ...and, I am new to this, so I appreciate any help/advice/critique.

Thanks!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    120.9 KB · Views: 328
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Welcome! :)
I would just wonder if that design, while cute, would allow for all the plants getting enough light. Seems the lower ones might be overshadowed, but if you can place and rotate it near a sunny window that wouldn't be a problem.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
Welcome to the world of plants. My advice for starters in the herb garden is Mint. From my experience, that is a good herb which we regularly use. When we have house guests, we just pick some from the garden to decorate the plates. And mint is very prolific. Just get one and plant it, surely it will grow and multiply. We just cleaned one planter box and trimmed the mint. We threw the trimmings under the sugar apple tree for fertilzer, thinking that it will rot. Last week, I notice that there are mint growing under that tree.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States