Total newbie in a concrete jungle

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
11b
Country
Brazil
Hi all. I'm a total newbie to all things green, I live in a house with no real garden, just a lovely stone patio and varanda. I'd like to try planting some easy vegetables and herbs (I'm thinking kale, tomatoes, cucumbers, and some herbs, things like that), but I'm not sure where to even start!

Would pots on a table be an okay way to do it? Or should I look at building a raised bed to give more soil space? Do I need to worry about drainage? Will I have water running through the pots and then leaking out all over my patio?

My initial plan is to buy a big table to put on the patio, a whole bunch of pots of varying sizes, and a few bags of soil and fertiliser, plus seeds. Am I missing anything obvious?

Thanks in advance!!! Oh, and if anyone knows of a website that explains all this stuff in a simple way for beginners, please let me know! I've looked things up but often get overwhelmed by terms I don't know.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
You're welcome.........we love to help each other out :)

I'm certain someone more knowledgeable will be along soon to answer all your questions :)(y)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Welcome to the forum!

I grow lots of vegetables in pots and raised beds. Pots big enough to hold vegetables are pretty heavy once you get the soil in them so I keep them close to the ground. Your kale will tolerate all sorts of weather but prefers a cool spot. Cucumbers like it hot be need to be trellised or have something to climb. Tomatoes need something to hold them upright a they get very heavy with fruit later on. Herbs don't need large pots and are lovely on a table where you can smell them whilst sitting and enjoying a nice day.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States