My yard has turned into a pond

Reaction score
Hi Gardeners,

Last summer I resodded my lawn and dug up a lot of roots in the ground that was in the way. This year, I am having water problem in my yard. Whenever it rains, it becomes a pond, and the soil has turned into mud. I am a newbie in gardening and am enjoying the learning and the work and want to know how to deal with the water problem.

Did the digging up the root create problem for the drainage of my soil? How can the drainage be improved?
Any suggestions, idea you can share will be much appreciated!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi Gardeners,

Last summer I resodded my lawn and dug up a lot of roots in the ground that was in the way. This year, I am having water problem in my yard. Whenever it rains, it becomes a pond, and the soil has turned into mud. I am a newbie in gardening and am enjoying the learning and the work and want to know how to deal with the water problem.

Did the digging up the root create problem for the drainage of my soil? How can the drainage be improved?
Any suggestions, idea you can share will be much appreciated!
Where are you located and how deep can the water become. Pics would help

Reaction score
pond.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I think something more is going on here than meets the eye. Just digging up a few roots wouldn't turn your yard into a swamp. Are there any water lines that may be leaking? What is uphill from this? When was your last rain and how much was it? How long has this water been there and how long does it usually stay?

Reaction score