Hedge Sculpture

We-are-all-mad-here

Mad Topiary Dreams
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
So I’m a better artist than I am a gardener! I posted here last spring about fluffing up my scraggly Eugenia Uniflora that I wanted to eventually grow into hedge art. I followed the excellent advice I received, fertilizing every three months and I planted a Yew to work I to my sculpture eventually to see if it grows faster, and I am using rooting compound to try to propagate more Eugenia to expand my sculpture.

However, my base Eugenia is still scraggly. It got to the height I wanted and I am in the process of building my wire form around it, but wow is the actual bush list in there!

83196AA2-6EA6-41BF-8128-F5518C54B64A.jpeg
A312FB47-A593-4718-9DCA-45179B061303.jpeg
B15E31C0-5354-4D15-A82F-E65F0C3067B4.jpeg

It’s supposed to be a hippocampus. I’m still working on it. I need to plant my rooted cuttings at intervals to be like a humped sea monster tail and the tiny Yew will be the tail fin.

My question is: what would happen if I planted cuttings right up in the base of the main shrub? Would they graft together and be as one plusher tree or suffer from competition? Is there any special technique to planting extra trees and getting them to grow together? Not even sure the term for that to google it.

Anything else I can do to fluff up this Eugenia?

Thanks to anyone willing to give their time to help and advise!

Attachments

• 633B944C-3A65-4546-AB82-ED97ABD801F7.jpeg
    633B944C-3A65-4546-AB82-ED97ABD801F7.jpeg
    331 KB · Views: 25
Reaction score
Country
United States
Plant shapes are moldable up to a point, but their branching arrangement and root space must be considered. I would not plant more cutting immediately at the base of the present shrub.