Can I prune back my Sungolds without hurting the plants?

Reaction score
Country
Mongolia
739DFA37-AC03-4E5D-BD91-348D462ED119.jpeg

Hi, folks :) Total newbie to both the forum and gardening in general :)

I’m growing Sungold tomatoes for the first time this year, making use of the sun drenched deep windowsills of my apartment in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. I kept six of the few dozen seedlings I started, and in the less than two months since I sowed the seeds I’ve been astounded by their growth rate. The plants are already 4-5 feet tall and producing tomatoes :)

The problem is that I neglected to prune all of the suckers, and four of the plants now have a couple of well developed second stems, each about three feet long, almost half an inch thick at their base and growing from beneath the first flowering branches of the main stem (pictured above). Given my limited space I’m concerned about the second stems crowding out the neighbouring plants and putting too much strain on the bamboo stakes I’m using for support, and I’m wondering if it would be possible (or wise) to prune them now that they’re so well developed. Would it be a simple procedure or do I run the risk of shocking the plants too much by removing too much of their foliage?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
You aren't obligated to prune the suckers but it sounds like in your situation you should. I don't , but I am not in a limited space either. Each of those suckers you remove will have produced a lot of tomatoes.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
If you are worried about them now, prune out the suckers.
If you are worried about them in future, pinch out the suckers.
Prune out any which have no flowers/tomatoes on, in any case.

Reaction score
Country
Mongolia
Thanks for the help :) I think I’ll have to carefully consider whether to prune. The second stems already have flowering branches, and I’d hate to limit my yield just because I’m scared of a little bulk :p