Will morning glory destroy my entire garden? Help!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all! First time post, first time garden owner. I recently moved in to my dream home that had a gorgeous well mapped out garden. I am BRAND new to this, but the garden was really what sold me, it is such a zen space. I had a gardener come out when I moved in to give me advice on how to care for garden, and I saw what I assumed was the start of “weeds” around my clematis. I asked if this was a weed and she said eh, not really it’s morning glory. It’ll be fine to keep, but if you want to smother it with new mulch you can do that.

I did add new mulch, and watched to see what would happen and I am realizing it really is invading my clematis. I am so heartbroken about it. I pulled every last bit down of morning glory I can find. I have two clematis, one growing in each side of an arch. The left side is still beautiful and full, but that did not have any morning glory on it; meanwhile the right side lost its bloom. After removing the morning glory today, i still have left behind what I think is going to be new bloom? Beautiful green leaves, but I am so inexperienced I just want to do whatever it takes to save this.

Should I frantically kiss my beautiful clematis arch goodbye forever? What can I do to salvage it, even for the next summer?

Pictures attached. It shows the opposite side arches one that had the morning glory and one that didn’t.

Attachments

• 71469953186__8B3EB9C7-EBE7-4B57-A68C-72D06B588DB4.jpeg
    71469953186__8B3EB9C7-EBE7-4B57-A68C-72D06B588DB4.jpeg
    428.9 KB · Views: 16
  • 71469952211__ABF6C7F6-098B-4F97-B7B8-C69FCB7F7485.jpeg
    71469952211__ABF6C7F6-098B-4F97-B7B8-C69FCB7F7485.jpeg
    351.1 KB · Views: 21
Reaction score
Country
United States
these photos are of the garden about 1.5 months ago

Attachments

• IMG_8687.jpeg
    IMG_8687.jpeg
    453.9 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_8761.jpeg
    IMG_8761.jpeg
    453.8 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_8766.jpeg