Morning Glory bed over-fertilized?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
Hi,
I have a small morning glory garden (1x8') that I've been using for a few years. It's a nice area in the yard with lots of sun. Three years ago, I had great success with lots of blooms. Then two years ago, I think I over-fertilized it and the plants did poorly; and last year, they had very few blooms again even though I did not fertilize. I was careful not to over water too.

I had my soil analyzed last fall and the report showed phosphorus and calcium "high", and potassium and magnesium "above optimum".

I'm hoping to do better this year and wonder how best to treat the soil. I was thinking of mixing in more compost because I have high-clay soil.

Any thoughts or suggestions about what I can do to improve the blooming this year?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi,
I have a small morning glory garden (1x8') that I've been using for a few years. It's a nice area in the yard with lots of sun. Three years ago, I had great success with lots of blooms. Then two years ago, I think I over-fertilized it and the plants did poorly; and last year, they had very few blooms again even though I did not fertilize. I was careful not to over water too.

I had my soil analyzed last fall and the report showed phosphorus and calcium "high", and potassium and magnesium "above optimum".

I'm hoping to do better this year and wonder how best to treat the soil. I was thinking of mixing in more compost because I have high-clay soil.

Any thoughts or suggestions about what I can do to improve the blooming this year?
What were the numbers on the fertilizer and how much did you use?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
My morning glories, grown in pots were leggy last year and not nearly as nice as I am used to. I think it was just a nasty year that turned everything finicky.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States