What did I do to these poor tomatoes?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello forum and thanks in advance for your time and advice.

I'm a novice gardener in San Jose, CA. I planted beefsteak and supersteak tomatoes in April. I mixed in chicken manure when I planted them. They get lots of afternoon and evening sun.

At first I watered them deeply 2-3 times per week to make the roots grow deep. Eventually, they started wilting/browning so I tried watering more and then less. Neither seems to have made a big difference. Any ideas what is wrong with them so I can be better prepared for next year? P.S. I learned that the early girl variety grows best in my area, so I'll plant those next time.

Images here: https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B9hgrzx-F95zQzNQQWRFb0ZfcEU&usp=sharing

Reaction score
Country
United States
What you have might be tomato blight, is caused by a fungus, Alternaria solani. You should remove the infected parts of the plants. Inorder to prevent it rotate your crops.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States

Attachments

• upload_2015-7-13_16-35-8.png
    upload_2015-7-13_16-35-8.png
    95.5 KB · Views: 261
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
I usually grow from seed but this year bought a couple of tomato plants from terra greenhouses. Mainly because i wanted the pots. Ne ver again. First it was blossom rot, I thought, now they look like blighted b never again.

B

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United Kingdom
Prune off all the dead material and feed with high nitrogen feed (bat guano is ideal).
Then spray at weekly intervals with Bordeaux mix.
This will not save what is already damaged, but will help to control it, if it is alternaria.
What is your soil type, as I'm thinking that overwatering is your problem?
That does not resemble early blight I've seen before; in my experience, there is usually far more evidence of chlorosis. (Leaves yellowing.).