What can't you grow in the tropics?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
~12a
Country
Puerto Rico
I plan on purchasing seeds online, however, I have limited knowledge on what temperate plants can actually grow here. For example, I've heard that apples don't do super well in areas without cold winters. Are there some plants that just don't take the humidity and or heat?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8A
Country
Netherlands
there's plenty of apple variations that do fine in the tropics, like Anna and Bramley's.

their biggest issue is excessive rain-fall, not the heat.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
Hi TGN...why would you want to grow temperate plants in a tropical climate when there are so many tropical plants that are happy to grow here? Is there something special that you would like to grow? How is your rice doing?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
~12a
Country
Puerto Rico
That's true. I just wanted to know if there was some common, specific vegetable that couldn't stand humidity or heat too well. Whether it be fungal diseases or something else.
My rice is like three feet tall. A LOT bigger than my profile pic. It hasn't seeded yet but I suppose it will soon!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico