Using ashes on compost pile

Reaction score
I am not a compost expert, I personally have not done a compost pile as an adult. My parents always had one when I was growing up tho. We had a big pile out close to the garden that we would pile stuff onto throughout the year. I do remember my parents having an ash bucket next to our compost pile.

The ash bucket was ashes from our wood stove. We would use the ashes on top of the compost pile to keep the smell down. I remember doing this even when my Mom and I didn't have a garden that summer.

Anybody ever hear of doing this or tried it? I do know it kept the smell down, but I don't remember if my Mom and I used the pile on the garden after using the ashes.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Good source of Potassium, you could also use it round the base of fruit bushes and trees.

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
Oh, except acid loving fruit like blueberries, as it raises the soil PH.

Reaction score
Do you mean the ashes too or just the compost pile? I know my parents used the ashes to keep the smell down on the compost pile, but I didn't know if the ashes were good for the garden too or if they just used it for the odor.

I grew up having a wood stove but do not have one where I live now.

Jed

Reaction score
You can use it straight or put it through your compost,
but as zigs mentioned make sure you put it around only those plants that don't mind a slightly alkaline soil.

Reaction score
We heat with wood all winter, so we tend to have a ton of ashes that we put with our compost pile. It seems to help balance out the nutrients that are lacking in our soil or other compost items, to make a richer soil. I wouldn't recommend using only ashes, that might be overkill! It would probably be best to get your soil tested to see which nutrients you need more of.

Reaction score