Trying gardening this year

Discussion in 'Vegetables' started by Jamie Calloway, Mar 24, 2017.

1. Jamie Calloway

Jamie Calloway Fruitalicious

Thought I would start a post for my new upcoming garden. I plan on planting salad stuff first tomatoes, peppers, onions, potatoes, corn etc.. I have never done this before so if i can get 1/4 of a yield I'll be pretty happy. My garden is about a 1/2 acre but I am going to start small maybe 10 x 20. My plan is to extend it a little every year (or maybe quite all together, we will see). I just purchased a disk harrow to pull behind the cub cadet, I broke ground a week ago. The garden already has irrigation run to it, and the soil looks really good. I have been composting now for about 2 months. I will post some pictures of the process this weekend as I am planning on disking it up soon.

Jamie Calloway, Mar 24, 2017
    Beverly and Larisa like this.
    1. Advertisements

2. Jamie Calloway

Larisa

Beginners in gardening often get a good harvest. Because they responsibly take up the case and follow all the rules. You just have to see how it works in the conditions of your garden. I remember how surprised I was when I collected my first harvest. I could not believe that I had such a good harvest. Good luck!

Larisa, Mar 24, 2017
    MaryMary and Beverly like this.
    1. Advertisements

3. Jamie Calloway

Beverly

Another thing about new gardens is the insects that might want to eat your tomatoes before you do, don't know the garden is there yet so i am wishing you a bumper crop. I think it is wise to start small and gradually add more territory. Georgia has such a wonderful climate for growing things. Look forward to seeing your progress and welcome to the forums. Don't hesitate to ask questions along the way.:)

Beverly, Mar 24, 2017
  4. Jamie Calloway

headfullofbees

Welcome.
    The biggest mistake most new gardeners make is overwatering.

headfullofbees, Mar 24, 2017
    MaryMary, Becky and Beverly like this.