Trying gardening this year

Jamie Calloway

Fruitalicious
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Thought I would start a post for my new upcoming garden. I plan on planting salad stuff first tomatoes, peppers, onions, potatoes, corn etc.. I have never done this before so if i can get 1/4 of a yield I'll be pretty happy. My garden is about a 1/2 acre but I am going to start small maybe 10 x 20. My plan is to extend it a little every year (or maybe quite all together, we will see). I just purchased a disk harrow to pull behind the cub cadet, I broke ground a week ago. The garden already has irrigation run to it, and the soil looks really good. I have been composting now for about 2 months. I will post some pictures of the process this weekend as I am planning on disking it up soon.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 b
Country
Russian Federation
Beginners in gardening often get a good harvest. Because they responsibly take up the case and follow all the rules. You just have to see how it works in the conditions of your garden. I remember how surprised I was when I collected my first harvest. I could not believe that I had such a good harvest. Good luck!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
USDA Zone 11
Country
Mexico
Another thing about new gardens is the insects that might want to eat your tomatoes before you do, don't know the garden is there yet so i am wishing you a bumper crop. I think it is wise to start small and gradually add more territory. Georgia has such a wonderful climate for growing things. Look forward to seeing your progress and welcome to the forums. Don't hesitate to ask questions along the way.:)

Jamie Calloway

Fruitalicious
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Great suggestions, I am going to hook up a sprinkler to a timer I figure 30 minutes in the early morning and again late evening. I think the chipmunk and squirrels are going to be trouble. I don't have high expectations but maybe it will produce

Reaction score
Country