Tomato seeds not sprouting

Reaction score
This is my first time asking a question on the garden forums, so I apologize if it is commonly asked and I have missed it.

Background:
I have started a tray of tomato seeds in both vermiculite (started on 3/24/2020) and in a mix of vermiculite and worm castings on 4/6/2020. I am warming them with a mat, it is under a sunlamp, and I water them daily. These are Cherry Bomb tomatoes that I bought this year with a 99% germination rate.

Problem:
Only one seedling has germinated out of 15 seeds in the packet after multiple weeks. I am obviously doing something terribly wrong. Some of the books that I've read say to start tomatoes with a bottom mat heater and in a loose soil like vermiculite.

What am I doing wrong?
  1. Perhaps I am over watering?
  2. Perhaps I'm starting with the wrong soil? I have not tested the pH.
  3. I only run the heating mat and sunlap via a timer for around 8 hours a day in a basement that gets down below 65 degrees F (but not below freezing), perhaps a lower temperature is stopping the germination process?

Thanks,
Michael

IMG_1618.jpg

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
This is my first time asking a question on the garden forums, so I apologize if it is commonly asked and I have missed it.

Background:
I have started a tray of tomato seeds in both vermiculite (started on 3/24/2020) and in a mix of vermiculite and worm castings on 4/6/2020. I am warming them with a mat, it is under a sunlamp, and I water them daily. These are Cherry Bomb tomatoes that I bought this year with a 99% germination rate.

Problem:
Only one seedling has germinated out of 15 seeds in the packet after multiple weeks. I am obviously doing something terribly wrong. Some of the books that I've read say to start tomatoes with a bottom mat heater and in a loose soil like vermiculite.

What am I doing wrong?
  1. Perhaps I am over watering?