Rooting Plants

Reaction score
I have several plants I would like to root, but I have some questions. I have little experience, so any tips would be greatly appreciated! Can any plant be rooted to start a new plant? How do you know when you should just stick the cutting in water, versus drying the cutting and sticking in dirt. I have a lot of succulants, so any tips with rooting those? Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland
I know it's possible to root miniature roses. I did it!:D It was very easy, I just took a few cuttings and I planted them in soil:D Now, I have my own, tiny miniature roses.
I've never had any luck with regular roses though:(

zigs

Cactus Grower, Kent.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United Kingdom
It varies from plant to plant, some root easily others just won't have any of it :D

You can get Hormone Rooting Powder which encourages new roots.

Generally you'd take cuttings from hard wood, not the new sappy growth.

Plants like Blackcurrants you can "Layer" which means you peg a branch to the ground, let that form roots and then cut it from the parent plant.

Reaction score
Mariam - As Zigs has already mentioned it varies a lot on what type pf plant you are trying to propagate using this method, I actually propagate quite a large variety of plants this way and many of my plants have started life as stem cuttings that were inserted into the soil.
You mentioned just sticking a cutting in water to root - which is not something that I would recommend for the majority of plants but have heard it has worked quite successful with some annuals.