New to Gardening

Reaction score
I am new to gardening and I won't have a lot of time on m yhands, maybe hour after I get off in the afternoons and then the weekends. Atleast how my schedule looks now. I have no idea really what to do to the yard. I have preexisting beds done by my hubbys grandmother years ago, they need redoing I know that much.

I have one bed in full view of sun constantly. It has a trellis with a rosebush on it. A back bed in right behind house always in shade. I planted coleus there....they're dead now, but thrived at first. Both are bricked in...has a drainage line, but I think needs cleaning out.
One bed is in the back. Its huge, we're going to take out dead bushes and reseed it to grass, but besides that idk what to do....maybe move a rose bush to the front yard.

Pat

Reaction score
Country
United States
You have a lot to think about, I think I would start with the lot that has full sun exposure, decide if you want flowers or veggies there. Then decide what you want to plant there.

The bed that is shaded has more restrictions and limited plants for the area but can be very pretty. Just know it is going to take awhile and a lot of work to get it looking like you want. Are you trying for something that requires low care? I like rock gardens and wild flower gardens for low care areas.

Have fun, good luck.

Reaction score
I had coleus in the back the previous year, I am studying them now to replace the ones I did have. I had no idea they were annuals. xD But I plan on studying about them and try them for a few years at least.