So I'm planning to start gardening in Philippines...

Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I'm planning to start gardening in Guimaras island, though I'm pretty new to it and not sure what to start from, so I want to ask some advices from experienced gardeners.

I own a piece of land, about one hectare, in Nueva Valencia, covered mostly with wild flora (that is currently being cleaned off) and some coconut trees (those remain untouched). The ground has never been cultivated before, nor fertilized. My question is - what fruits would be wise choice to plant first in such situation, when the cleaning will have been done? Something that is not really difficult for the beginners; I'm thinking about avocado, pineapples, bananas, calamansi and may be jackfruit, but I'm not sure if those would like each other's neighbourhood, or may be it's not recommened to combine them together? I know Guimaras is famous for its' mango, though I do not really consider it because tending mango trees appears to be too complicated for me yet. Another question is - how to figure out, what kind of fertilizers (if any) are needed in the place?

Thanks for your help, any advice would be appreciated.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States