Need help with my lawn

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. I'm a semi retired resident of South Florida and I have been trying to fix a weed problem in my backyard. I had a big rottweiler that left a lot of spots where grass died, and also have a big proliferation of weeds which are outgrowing the grass. So here I am to ask for help and knowledge from the gardening community.
My goal is to have a backyard with nice and healthy grass, no weeds, and hopefully a grass that will be healthy all year round.
I'm attaching photos of the two main weeds that are spread all over. So my questions are, 1-how can I get rid of those weeds (as in what products should I use etc), 2- what kind of grass would be best to have. And 3- how can I grow that grass from seeds instead of digging and replacing the current turf (as it's probably much more costly). As you can see in the photos there are areas where here is no grass or weed just sandy soil.
All your help and input is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20240127_140950.jpg
    20240127_140950.jpg
    560.2 KB · Views: 10
  • 20240127_140935.jpg
    20240127_140935.jpg
    567 KB · Views: 10
  • 20240127_140929.jpg
    20240127_140929.jpg
    490.5 KB · Views: 10
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Lawn, because they're a monocrop is a money pit, if you want a "healthy lawn" full of grass. Personally, I'd be mixing those greens into my salad and leave the synthetic chemicals needed to kill them off and to grow and maintain a "healthy" lawn.

The two major plants (that you want to get rid of) I see there are Spanish Needle (Bidens alba) and Pink Wood Sorrel (Oxalis articulata).

They are edible, along with many other "weeds" and much more healthier than what is bought in stores where synthetic chemicals are used to grow them.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States