Medicinal Herbs in Your Garden

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Thanks for sharing this link. I used to have an aloe plant and would cut of the leaves and spread the fresh aloe onto cuts and sunburns. The plant eventually died and I need to get a new one. I am a bit of a novice on the medicinal properties of many herbs, but slowly I am learning how to use them as natural medicine as I try to become more self sustaining.

Reaction score
Thank you for the useful link! Herbs are my favorite plants in my garden. I love having fresh herbs for cooking, sun burns, tea, etc. There are so many different uses for each plant.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
Japan
Thanks for sharing this link. I used to have an aloe plant and would cut of the leaves and spread the fresh aloe onto cuts and sunburns. The plant eventually died and I need to get a new one. I am a bit of a novice on the medicinal properties of many herbs, but slowly I am learning how to use them as natural medicine as I try to become more self sustaining.

I too was lucky enough to live somewhere previously that had an aloe plant and it was wonderful for a whole host of things. I don't have a plant of it here in Japan but I might have to see about sourcing one locally, if they sell them. They're marvellous, especially for sunburns are you said!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines
The first herb that comes to my mind is the mint. Coincidentally, I just replanted 2 mint sprouts this morning in a plastic pot. When it successfully grows, it is reserved for a friend. Next is the aloe vera if that is considered an herb. But it is also medicinal in nature such that it is a good salve for burns. A wild herb that we have is that tawa-tawa which is boiled for drinking. That concoction is for dengue patients.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
Poland