possible to grow herbs indoors? - Colorado

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all so I am new to gardening. I planted spinach, and butter crunch lettuce. I have about 8 containers now all successfully growing. I have them by a window in a bedroom facing south so they get indirect sunlight 7 hours??? Issue is, I want to keep them indoors. Do you guys suggest a grow light when they get bigger? Do I need to plant them outside eventually?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Hi all so I am new to gardening. I planted spinach, and butter crunch lettuce. I have about 8 containers now all successfully growing. I have them by a window in a bedroom facing south so they get indirect sunlight 7 hours??? Issue is, I want to keep them indoors. Do you guys suggest a grow light when they get bigger? Do I need to plant them outside eventually?
I would suggest a grow light now before they fail with indirect light. Seedlings carry all the energy from the seed with them as they emerge. When the time comes for them to draw energy from the surroundings the indirect light will probably be insufficient for such leafy vegetables.

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
If you have a bright window ledge, why not?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I would suggest a grow light now before they fail with indirect light. Seedlings carry all the energy from the seed with them as they emerge. When the time comes for them to draw energy from the surroundings the indirect light will probably be insufficient for such leafy vegetables.

thank you!! my question is, can I juts use any light or does it need a special grow light?

something light this

https://www.amazon.com/Juhefa-Spect...162109&sr=1-1-spons&keywords=grow+light&psc=1

or can it be something as simple as this cabinet lighting?

https://www.amazon.com/ASOKO-Dimmab...UTF8&qid=1534162157&sr=8-6&keywords=LED+light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom