I want to fetilize my indoor plant but have a problem, I'm new to this.

Reaction score
Country
United States
This being my first post, I wanted to say hello to everyone, there are a lot of forums here so maybe members here can help with issues I have along the way. :)

The plant I have is still fairly young and I planted it in Miricle Grow Moisture control soil a month ago, it was 3 inches when I planted it and now it's growing fast and I assume using up many of the nutrients in the fertilized soil. The directions say the fertilizer feeds for up to 6 months on the front but on the back the specific instructions say wait a month then fertilize, so I assume it's ready. This is a side issue I'm having, but if I should wait longer before giving it more nutrients give me the heads up, I don't want to kill the plant with too many nutrients, I don't know how much margin for error there is.

My primary concern and question.....

The fertilizer I'm going to use (actually plant food), is Espoma Plant Tone. It's supposed to be really good and has everything my plant should need but I'm a bit worried about using it because it says for established potted plants to..... "Sprinkle 1 tsp for every 3 inches of pot diameter into the soil along the outer edge of the pot. Water thoroughly" The issue is that the soil stays pretty moist so I rarely have to water the soil. It's a tropical plant that likes a humid and warm environment so I spray the leaves down with a mister 4 times a day, and spray the inside of the greenhouse that I made with water as well. This is enough to keep the soil moist without watering it.

My concern is that if I don't water the soil directly then the plant food won't absorb into the soil enough to reach the roots.