Seeking advice on growing beans indoor

Reaction score
Country
Singapore
Hi, I am new to growing beans. I received two bean seeds (red in colour) a few weeks back and grew them indoors. I am starting to notice buds growing. Which (I think) indicates that flowers might bloom.

As I am growing the beans at home, I was hoping to hand pollinate the flowers (I am hoping that the species is asexual). However, I am worried that the flowers might attract bees or other pollinators. I was thinking of wrapping the flowers in clear plastic, so as to not attract bees. But I am not sure if I would suffocate the flower and jeopardize its growth? Would the bag even help to not attract bees?

Thanks for reading this post!
Any advice is appreciated :)

alp

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
You will have a lot of bugs and other problems if you wrap the flowers in clear plastic.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
as far as I know, there are no asexual bean species. Beans are like tomatoes, self pollinating. Just shake the plant to help spread the pollen. Plastic??????????? Extremely bad idea for a number of reasons.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Hi, I am new to growing beans. I received two bean seeds (red in colour) a few weeks back and grew them indoors. I am starting to notice buds growing. Which (I think) indicates that flowers might bloom.

As I am growing the beans at home, I was hoping to hand pollinate the flowers (I am hoping that the species is asexual). However, I am worried that the flowers might attract bees or other pollinators. I was thinking of wrapping the flowers in clear plastic, so as to not attract bees. But I am not sure if I would suffocate the flower and jeopardize its growth? Would the bag even help to not attract bees?

Thanks for reading this post!
Any advice is appreciated :)