Hello from Sydney, Australia - Complete Novice/Beginner

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone,

My name is David, I'm 30yo from Sydney Australia. In the past, gardening was something which interested me at all and admitted, I admittedly I was never able to appreciate why people have such a keen interest in gardening. Spring has just started here, we are getting a lot of warm weather, mid 20s Celsius at the moment, and the mornings are not as cold anymore. Although it is meant to be raining most of next week.

Since June this year, Sydney has been in a total and strict lockdown - the city has been shut down completely and we've been stuck at home almost 24/7. My mum lives by herself, so I decided to move back home with her over lockdown to keep her company (I also didn't want to be stuck in total lockdown with my flatmate the entire haha!). She lives in a house in the suburbs with a big backyard. She lives alone and has health problems, so she hasn't really grown anything in the backyard, so it's pretty much completely bare apart from a few native trees and bushes which seems to look after themselves. The soil in the ground is mostly clay-like.

I decided to give gardening a go as a well to keep myself occupied since we're in lockdown and add some things to the bare garden. To my surprise, I have been really enjoying it and dedicating a lot of time learning and being out in the garden. My initial perception and thoughts about gardening have completely changed! I have been mostly using pots and grow bags, as I'm still not confident/skilled enough to plant directly into the ground.