Good gardening tools

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm a complete novice, so far have killed a broom and a pitch fork... (get what you pay for I guess) I would like to replace my cheaper garden tools with ones that won't just snap on the first use...
I need a new rake, gardening fork, (for stubborn dirt on paving slabs) broom, shovel, and maybe a nice gardening kit (planting - trowel etc).
Any assistance as to a durable semi decent brand (don't wanna break the bank, but will if it means I get stuff that lasts longer than a month)
The current stuff I magnusson from b&q... found the wooden handles to be somewhat inferior quality... the metal threaded bit on the broom just sheared off entirely and the fork handle splintered and snapped while moving a rose tree... (wasn't taking much pressure to lift it compared to some plants I have tried moving since after gluing it together... twice...)

Any brands that don't have this issue?
Any recommendations welcome

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
Are there farm auctions or even home auctions near you? Attend a couple and pick up the tools you need. You don't need a pitchfork, you need a digging fork. A Palmyra broom will work for cleaning the paving slabs, and don't buy a "kit" of gardening tools. Pick out a trowel that feels right in your hand, and perhaps a three prong weeder.
As to brands, I really like Fiskars for pruning items, and Ace Hardware tools (which you may not have in the UK) for digging, raking, and general gardening. I like wooden handles which are easier on my hands than fiberglass (can't do a proper job wearing gloves!).

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Brilliant thank you :)
No auctions in my location sadly. Will certainly look at the items you suggested