Dill between tomatoes and peppers?

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Is it okay to plant dill with tomatoes and peppers? I've never done it before but I have some unexpected extra space between some tomatoes and peppers. Not the mammoth dill but the short stuff. Usually I plant it off to the side but this will save me some time and tilling. I just don't know if they grow well together or not.

Meadowlark

No N-P-K Required
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
old zone 8b/new zone 9a
Country
United States
I would not do it...rather find another space for it.

Dill as it matures is said to have a retarding effect on tomato growth. Also, it can become invasive if you aren't careful. Basil would be a much better choice IMO.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Is it okay to plant dill with tomatoes and peppers? I've never done it before but I have some unexpected extra space between some tomatoes and peppers. Not the mammoth dill but the short stuff. Usually I plant it off to the side but this will save me some time and tilling. I just don't know if they grow well together or not.
Don't do it. While young dill can help in aphid control, older dill inhibits growth of both tomatoes and peppers.

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I would not do it...rather find another space for it.

Dill as it matures is said to have a retarding effect on tomato growth. Also, it can become invasive if you aren't careful. Basil would be a much better choice IMO.
Don't do it. While young dill can help in aphid control, older dill inhibits growth of both tomatoes and peppers.
Thank you both for the replies, I am glad I asked. I'll stick with normal routine and put the dill where I always do. I'll either plant some basil or some more tomato plants, maybe some cherry tomatoes. I'd prefer basil but it's so freaking expensive to buy lol. I prefer growing everything from seed myself but it's probably too late to start basil from seed.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States