Can’t stop getting root rot...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’ve become quite interested in house plants over the past year and do a lot of research. So i would say I am a beginner but still have some knowledge.

I keep “easy” plants, and i have them all in south facing windows. (I live in the UK) so right now it’s pretty dark, overcast light. I keep all my plants their plastic nursery pots, majority are in the soil they come in, the ones I have repotted, I used Westland houseplant potting mix. I can see some perlite in the mix but it still feels quite heavy and says it contains Seramis.

When watering my plants, I stick my finger deep down into the soil. I also stick finger into one of the bottom holes in the pot. I usually water when it feels dry or when it’s dry but slightly moist to the point where I’m not sure if it’s barely moist or just cold, if that’s makes sense.

I run water through the soil evenly until it streams out of the bottom. I then tilt the pot and let it drain. I give it a little squeeze to help the water out, then I leave it in the sink to further drain then put it back in the decorative pot. No water is in the bottom of the decorative pots.
My plants remain very wet, for a long time, it can take a month+ for the plants to dry out till next watering, I feel like the roots are wet for too long, but I don’t know what I can do to dry it out quicker? I watered some plants last week, and today they are still on the wetter side of moist. I repotted a couple today and noticed root rot, even though I’m waiting a long time between waterings, so it must be a problem with how long it’s taking to dry out, has anyone else had these problems?

I see a lot of videos on YouTube saying only water when the first 2inches are dry. I usually wait till it’s dryer pretty much the whole way through. I feel like my plants are chronically waterlogged already.

If potting mix is the issue, can someone recommend a good combo?

Has anyone else had this problem?