Am I composting right?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi everyone,
I am new to gardening and recently started a compost pile in my backyard. I recently came across a source for chicken manure and had heard that chicken manure is very high in nitrogen phosphorus and potassium. I know that this chicken manure will need to decompose before using it in my soil. The chicken manure I got was mixed in with wood shavings. The load I got consisted of about 80% wood shavings and 20% chicken manure. I watched a few videos on composting chicken manure. Right now I have that load of 80/20 in an upside down plastic bin with tarp underneath to keep the gophers out. I applied a generous amount of moisture to the mix and mixed it around. I plan on uncovering and checking , mixing, applying moisture if needed every two days.

Here are my questions for you experienced composers out there
!.) Will this mixture decompose into useable soil? (it looks much too light and mulch-y in my opinion)
2.) Should I add anything else to this composting mix to make it darker and more approachable for soil use?
3.) Am I better off using this mixture I have as mulch? 3a.) If I use it as mulch to lock the moisture in will the chicken manure in it harm the roots and plants in my bed?

Thank You and Be Well,

Mitch

Reaction score
Country
United States
Your set-up will likely work fine, be careful not to create anaerobic conditions. Make sure there is airflow to the compost. Depending on conditions such a pile may function as a hot or cold compost. Their are certain parameters of size and temperature that must be maintained for hot compost, but even if a pile goes cold it will still produce compost.

The dark color of compost is due to decomposition, not the initial color of the parent material.

What do gophers do with a pile of chicken manure and wood shavings?