Balcony composting in a laundry basket

Reaction score
Country
Israel
I have been composting for a few months now in my (very large) balcony. Just throwing waste and shredded newspaper with some dry leaves. No turning till a couple of days ago. The bottom is very dry, and it is hot here, so I added water from time to time. There is very little smell, and many small flies which mostly stay in the bin when not disturbed, and don't bother me.

When mushrooms popped this week I did a little reading and decided to aerate a little better, not really turning it but pushing and moving with a long stick. The middle part is sticky and probably blocks airflow, while, as I said, water don't seep all the way down.

I don't want to over water it, but I think I do want the bottom and top to be moist. I don't want to have to work hard in turning and mixing. I thought of adding a pipe, though the basket is not wide, or adding worms, or leaving it as it is just pushing it with a stick a bit every week or two. Can someone give me some advice on that?

Attachments

• mycompostbin.jpg
    mycompostbin.jpg
    127.4 KB · Views: 40
Reaction score
Country
United States
Worm composting is usually what is recommended for composting small amounts in tight spaces, but what you are doing is an interesting experiment. Intentionally trying to cultivate edible mushrooms is anther idea that comes to mind. There are composting bins designed as tumblers which make turning much easier. When you do get compost where will you put it?

Reaction score
Country
Israel
I don't want to invest is special bins, as is probably obvious, just want to improve my cheap one without spending a lot of money or doing a lot of work. I thought it would be too hot for worms so I ruled out the option when I started. Now, after seeing a bit of the inside, and as winter is coming, worms seem more like an option.

I have quite a few pots, mainly decorative, and I intend to add more with time.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B