Why can't you compost coconuts?

Reaction score
I was looking through the rules of New York City's former pilot program in composting to get an idea of what may happen when they implement it city-wide, and one of the things I didn't understand was why they said you couldn't compost coconuts. Why not? Do the husks not biodegrade or something? Is the meat of the coconuts too oily? I'm puzzled.

Reaction score
I'm no composting expert but I've noticed in my own compost pile even the rinds from some types of avocado don't decompose. I went out this spring and they were still solid, crispy, and when I stepped on them they crunched up. Peanut shells don't break down well, either. That one makes sense, though, since peanuts grow underground so their shells would have to stand up to the moisture, etc., in the dirt. I think it's a real possibility that coconut husks won't break down either.

I was curious enough to Google this. The video I watched said coconut shells (he used the word "core") make great composting material for gardens because the fibers hold a lot of water. He did say they take a lot of time to break down though. Maybe the folks doing the NYC project just don't want to bother?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Peanut shells are used for mulch, so that should tell you something about them. Some things take longer to break down in compost than other things. I doubt that coconut shells are volatile since they are used in creating planters. It's more likely that NY doesn't want them in the compost because they will take up space and not break down as fast as other materials like wood.

If you have coconuts you want to compost, you would get better re-use from them turning them into planters.

Reaction score