What's wrong with my cucumber plant? :(

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
11b
Country
Brazil
And how can I treat it? Disclaimer: I'm a total newbie trying to grow some fruit/veg/herbs in containers on my veranda!

My cherry tomatoes, cucumber and parsley all started getting white powdery patches over the leaves and stems, and the leaves started yellowing and dying. So at the advice of my local garden centre I sprayed them with some copper sulphate spray, and the toms and parsley both improved and are now fine!

The cucumber, however, did not. It looks like this:

tNaQVA9.jpg

The leaves at the bottom are worst affected. Higher up they're just fine. Any ideas?? I don't want my cucumber plant to die!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
And how can I treat it? Disclaimer: I'm a total newbie trying to grow some fruit/veg/herbs in containers on my veranda!

My cherry tomatoes, cucumber and parsley all started getting white powdery patches over the leaves and stems, and the leaves started yellowing and dying. So at the advice of my local garden centre I sprayed them with some copper sulphate spray, and the toms and parsley both improved and are now fine!

The cucumber, however, did not. It looks like this:

tNaQVA9.jpg

The leaves at the bottom are worst affected. Higher up they're just fine. Any ideas?? I don't want my cucumber plant to die!
Looks like powdery mildew is trying to take hold. Spray with copper sulfate again or use 2 tablespoons baking soda and a squirt of dishsoap per gallon of water. Spray entire plant every 7 days.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3a
Country
Canada
Old growth on cucumbers is relatively normal to look like that. Looks pretty normal to me. Treating it with powdery mildew prevention is perfectly fine though seeing as they all usually succumb to it in the long run.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I applied Epsom Salt to the soil and it seems to be helping. Cucumbers should be grown in partial sunlight.