Weeping fig tree

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am a complete house plant novice, but I've so far managed to keep most my houseplants alive just by doing the very basics of watering them and ensuring they have enough sunlight. About a year ago I bought a lovely weeping fig tree for my living room. It stayed looking very healthy for all the time it was in my care, but after I returned from a 3 month holiday, most the leaves on one half had fallen off and that side was looking particularly bare.

I am pretty sure that the tree had not been watered for the last month of the three months I was away. Two months have passed since then and I have been regularly watering it but the same half still remains very bare.

Is there anything I can do to bring it back to it's original health? Or is it too late?

I am attaching before and after pictures to illustrate.

Thank you in advance!
Before.jpg
After.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I'd say the reason it is bare is because it is not getting enough sunlight like the other half is getting. Rotate the tree.

Reaction score
Country
Austria
I had such a problem. I think it might be because of watering. But it doesn’t look that bad

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'd say the reason it is bare is because it is not getting enough sunlight like the other half is getting. Rotate the tree.
I don't think that's the case. It was fine until I went away and the houseguests did not water it!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Poor watering may have been the origin of it's problems, but even in the first picture the side near the light is doing better. It may well be that rotating it will assist its recovery, even if it wasn't the cause of its problems.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom