Valencia Oranges Issues

Reaction score
Country
United States
All,

Looking for some guidance on my Valencia orange tree. I have been cultivating it for about 3 years. The first year lots of blossoms but no fruit. Starting late in year 2 I had my first fruit. Since then, fruit has been coming in more volume (probably 9 on the tree right now). My issue is ripening. I know that Valencia's can take 12-14 months to fully ripen but my first fruit stayed green for almost 18 months before I finally broke down and picked it. It was not pretty inside and looked dry and nothing like an orange. Now i have the same issue with the remaining fruit. They have been full grown for almost 15 months but aren't turning orange/ready to harvest. I picked one as a test and it looked very MUCH like an orange (unlike my first fruit) just not fully ripened/sweetened yet.

I should note that I do move this tree (huge pot) inside and outside based on weather, I have a small green house for the winter months. I do fertilize every 6-8 weeks.

What am I doing wrong? Just be more patient or should I be trying something else?

Reaction score
Country
United States
All,

Looking for some guidance on my Valencia orange tree. I have been cultivating it for about 3 years. The first year lots of blossoms but no fruit. Starting late in year 2 I had my first fruit. Since then, fruit has been coming in more volume (probably 9 on the tree right now). My issue is ripening. I know that Valencia's can take 12-14 months to fully ripen but my first fruit stayed green for almost 18 months before I finally broke down and picked it. It was not pretty inside and looked dry and nothing like an orange. Now i have the same issue with the remaining fruit. They have been full grown for almost 15 months but aren't turning orange/ready to harvest. I picked one as a test and it looked very MUCH like an orange (unlike my first fruit) just not fully ripened/sweetened yet.