Insect Infestation Help: Valencia Orange Tree

Reaction score
Country
United States
All,

I'm in my 4th year of growing a Valencia Orange Tree.

For context I keep the tree potted (very large pot) and it spends the summers outdoors and then in a small green-house like corner window I have in the colder months.

When I moved it in this year I've noticed the soil around the base of the tree was crawling with these bugs. They almost look like tiny fleas or gnats to me. Seem to have wings and can fly (but mostly don't) but when in the dirt you can barely see them with the human eye.

I've been using Insecticidal Soap (Captain Jack's Insecticidal Super Soap) spray for the last 10-14 days. I feel like I'm not making dent. Literally every morning I wake up and get real close to the soil and there is a fresh batch of these guys crawling around. I spray them like 2-4 times a day whenever I seen movement. I've probably gone through 60% of my 32oz spray bottle.

Anyways I thought I would check if someone had other recommendations for how to mitigate this issue? What are these bugs? How do I get rid of them?

Sidenote: I'm not really noticing any adverse effects to the tree itself (which is good I guess) but am just generally concerned for the tree and my house.

Thanks,

Josh

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States