Using manure

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
What is the most appropriate way to use manure when preparing new raised beds? Is this something I can use as a substitute for compost?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
What is the most appropriate way to use manure when preparing new raised beds? Is this something I can use as a substitute for compost?
Manure is organic matter and so is compost. Decomposed manure in most cases is safe in a garden in an unmixed state. Decomposed chicken manure may be too rich to be used unmixed. It all depends on the manure as to how to best use it. Do not use fresh out of the animal manure unless it is in pellet forms such as from a rabbit or a goat. What type of manure do you have and how old is it?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Horse manure and it’s a few months old. A guy close to me has a stable and just gives it away.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Horse manure and it’s a few months old. A guy close to me has a stable and just gives it away.
It should be OK but, make sure that the hay is safe. Many if not most hay growers use a herbicide on their hayfields called Piclaram. A horse eats the hay and the herbicide stays in the feces. For years. To make sure the manure is not laced with herbicide get a shovel full of the stuff and put it in a 5 gallon bucket of water and let it sit for about 24 hours. Then pour it over a broadleaf weed. If the weed doesn't show any ill effect in 24 hours it is safe. And don't trust what the stable guy says because he probably doesn't grow the hay.

Aged horse manure is safe to use unmixed so you can just fill up your raised beds with it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States