Small bell peppers. Too hot?

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
I decided I was going to be a pepper farmer this year...mostly because I started about 30 pepper plants inside and they all actually grew...a good problem to have I guess. Needless to say, the Phoenix sun seems to be more than they can handle. All of them are established and about 12” tall, but the fruits are very, very small (less than 3”). All of my plants (except 3) are in my raised beds and on a drip system. However, the 3 in containers are the ones doing the best with good looking fruits growing. The containers are also on my patio and get partial shade. The beds get direct sunlight from about 7am-~4pm. It has been 100+ degrees every day for the last month.

Applied a 12-0-0 fertilizer back in February/March, and used a 10-10-10 organic fertilizer at the start of May. I also mulched the beds with about 2-3” of wood chips after the plants were established. The containers get all the same nutrients, but are hand watered each day.

Is there anything I can do, or is it just the product of the Arizona heat? Thinking I may need a shade cloth, but I also don’t really have a good place to really set one up.

1593008620507.jpeg

1593008694501.jpeg

Logan

Logan
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
1a
Country
United Kingdom
I think that it's the sun all the time on the plants.
Can't you set up a frame and drape the shading over but peg it down well.

Here i have to grow my chilli plants same family as bell peppers in the conservatory
and find that they don't like a lot of sun, they wilt until the evening when the sun goes down a bit.

DrMike27

Trust me...I’m a doctor.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States