Raise Bed Material

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi all,

I'm new to this thread but not new to gardening however I have a question that may have already been discussed at length in other threads (if so could I have the link?).
I want to transform my existing ground level garden into raised beds. I have a good design in mind but I'm having a hard time deciding what material to use to build the beds. Options:

1) Pressure treated - Here in Atlantic Canada we have both brown and green pressure treated SPF. I know this may not be preferred because of the chemicals they use to seal the wood
2) Untreated SPF (could I seal the wood myself?)
3) Cedar or Hemlock - My preferred option but VERY expensive here.
4) Brick, composite - EXPENSIVE
5) Rocks - I really don't like this look

If I could have some advice from fellow gardeners it would be greatly appreciated!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I like raised beds alot, especially since my soil is horrible here.. and raised beds are just fun! Thing is I'm poor, I'm a gardener without a garden budget at the moment.. the main question is how much money will you spend, like you said, bricks would be awesome but expensive... And I hate to agree with EVERYONE else... But I am also OCD about NOT letting chemicals into my garden. Especially if I'm eating what comes out if it.. ANYWAY, I like the wood idea while doing your best to keep the chemicals out of your dirt

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
How about cinder blocks? You can even fill the holes and plant in them. They, unlike ANY type of wood, will last forever. You can make different designs, you can make it shallow or deep. They are probably less expensive than lumber and if you move just take them with you.

Reaction score
Country
Canada