Poor Sunflower

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Arab Emirates
After I moved it to a slightly sunnier spot, lower leaves began blackening and it dropped all of its yellow petals.
I moved it back to its original spot. I've been wondering if too much sun could have caused this problem?
pOjfrbl.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10b
Country
United States
LIcenter is right. It looks like it's overwatering to me too. I'm not an expert at growing sunflowers, so correct me if I'm wrong, but did the flower already bloom? The pedals are supposed to fall off after blooming so it can produce the seeds. If it hasn't bloomed and is looking like that, then I would say overwatering as well.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
I agree with the over-watering thing and that it's very, very difficult to give a sunflower too much sun. I have to worry with some plants here in Florida with getting too much sun, but not sunflowers, the more the better.

However, you've asked a question that (IMO) doesn't get enough coverage about sunflowers and that is that they turn very ugly after the flower has been pollinated. And it is common for the leaves to start dying and they will not be replaced once the flower goes to bloom. Everyone shows pictures of the nice blooming sunflower, but they don't show the pictures of what the sunflower starts looking like in about a week after that bloom and it only gets worse with time.

Looks to me like your sunflower is doing what sunflowers normally do. Produce seeds and look ugly -- it's kind of like the ugly duckling story, but in reverse:D

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States