"Poor man's fertilizer"

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I grew up hearing that phrase. Simply it is all that white stuff that is covering many of our yards. I'm not a scientist, nor do I even care to look it up to see if it has merit or not. What I do know, and have observed in the 61 years I have been on this planet is; Every year we have had a good snow coverage the following spring we are rewarded with a much healthier garden, and lawn. I'm sure some has to do with it protecting many plants from the drying, and blustery cold winds, and that could be all there is to it..
Many here know, or should know how beneficial rain is as opposed to irrigating ourselves with tap water. From what I understand, snow picks up more particulates (minerals and the like) from the air that plants will thrive on, so one thing I took to doing right after a snowfall, is collect buckets of it to let thaw. I then use that to water my house plants, and starter trays. Anybody else do the same, or am I just chasing ghosts?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Country
United States
I was told by a biologist that snow is high in nitrogen. I figured since I was shoveling tons of the stuff in upstate NY, I'd better believe in some beneficial effect!
We save rainwater for our gardens, chickens, and house plants, and at this time of year, the starter trays. I think the same reasons we use rainwater would hold for snow melt. Just be sure to let the snow water warm up before watering plants!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
4b
Country
United States
It's all true. Lots of snow means I'll have a good hay crop. Cuts down on the fertilizing too. Not my favorite thing to do anyway. Lots of snow kills off lots of bugs too. No ghost chasing with that one.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5A
Country
Canada
Yes, nitrogen. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow

okay, I will finish my wine and go to bed,

minus 10f ...

thank goodness for blankies..

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country