Plants in pots too much heat from sun?

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Quick question. This is my first time growing in pots. Everything is watered, garden and pots. The tomatoes in the garden are fine but the ones in the pots and wilting from the heat. I am guessing because the heat of the sun is really hot on the roots in the pots so the ones in the garden don't have hot roots. I know plants wilt in the heat, it doesn't kill them. it's only 26 today (about 78f) but it was 32 the past couple days and I watched them droop even worse. All my tomatoes and peppers get direct sun from am to pm so should I be putting the ones in buckets in the shade for the afternoon sun? I feel bad for them. I really don't want them aborting their fruit. Even my maple tree is dropping green leaves to cope with the heat.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Quick question. This is my first time growing in pots. Everything is watered, garden and pots. The tomatoes in the garden are fine but the ones in the pots and wilting from the heat. I am guessing because the heat of the sun is really hot on the roots in the pots so the ones in the garden don't have hot roots. I know plants wilt in the heat, it doesn't kill them. it's only 26 today (about 78f) but it was 32 the past couple days and I watched them droop even worse. All my tomatoes and peppers get direct sun from am to pm so should I be putting the ones in buckets in the shade for the afternoon sun? I feel bad for them. I really don't want them aborting their fruit. Even my maple tree is dropping green leaves to cope with the heat.
It has been over 38C here everyday for weeks and everything will wilt in the afternoon sun whether in the ground or not. It is the next morning that you have to worry about. If they are still wilted you need to water. I do not believe high heat will cause a tomato or pepper plant to abort fruit. It will severely affect fruit set however.

Reaction score
Country
Canada