Not sure how to revive our lawn

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey

Looking for suggestions to revive our lawn. It was massively overgrown and we’ve recently cut it right back to in uncover a straw like mossy mess!

Is it beyond repair? Can we revive it at all? Do we need to lift it and lay turf or seed it and if so how do we do it.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions we’re absolute novices

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
F2B2DDAF-F4DF-4912-980A-CFE6B6A0A739.jpeg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Keir Hardy
Country
United Kingdom
It needs either patience...or money.
For the former, it looks as if it needs a good scarifying, plenty of water, then a feed and see where you go from there.

Or if you can afford it and don't want the hassle, re-turf it, but it will also need quite a bit of work if you are doing it yourself.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
The easiest thing to do would be to spray with a strong molasses mix. This will greatly speed up the decomposition of the thatch. Then keep it mowed until the grass comes back and while waiting for this to happen do something about any weeds that will appear. Frequent mowing will eventually kill the weeds as there will be no weeds seeds to germinate. Then when the weather is right re-seed

Colin

Retired.
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Excellent suggestions Sean & Chuck which should help. Grass is tough and resilient so even a lawn in such poor condition will respond to some TLC; whatever you do don't apply too much lawn feed; my chum found out the hard way and his lawn took a year to recover.