New Veggie garden

Reaction score
Hey All

I have been busy preparing a piece of ground in my backyard where i want to start planting some vegetables. Now the thing is that the back of my yard gets sunshine from morning until the sun sets, The sun gets really hot at mid day and most plants just die. Which vegetables can I plant in such an area without installing additional shade nets or anything. I live in Pretoria south Africa. Any ideas will be appreciated since i'm still new to gardening.

Thank you all in advance

Reaction score
That's a lot of sun. I can relate because I tried to grow vegetables in the hot climate of Texas. Most vegetable plants that require "full sun" need about 8 hours and more than that seemed to kill my plants. I think it was mainly from lack of water.

The best thing you can do is put a lot of mulch around the plants and water them often enough to keep up with the heat. Do your watering in the evening.

I'd say that the shade nets are probably your best bet to give your plants some protection from too much sun.

Reaction score
You may have luck with tomatoes, melons, squash, all of which love the sun. The biggest trick will be making sure that they have enough water. The tomatoes will provide a bit of shade for herbs, carrots, etc. So will the melons and squash plants if you give them trellises to climb up, rather than letting them sprawl on the ground. Good luck!

Reaction score
Hi all

thank you so much for your replies, I will take it all into consideration and experiment a bit and see how it goes. Just one more question. Should I plant directly into the ground or should i start by planting it in pots until its slightly grown ? :)

Reaction score
Hi Simon
I grow fruit and veg in conditions which are possibly similar to yours, summer temperatures ranging from between 37 - 40 degrees, with at least 12 hours of unabating scorching hot sun and virtually no rain for at least 3 months. My veg/fruit patch faces mainly south.