Creating a New Veggie Garden and Need Advice

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13B in the summer higher.
Country
Puerto Rico
Hi everyone! I'm creating my first veggie garden, and I'm in need of a little advice. I want to be able to grow my own herbs and vegetables in order to be able to enjoy my own produce from home, not store bought. What would you guys/girls recommend be the first herbs and vegetables that I could start my new garden with? Remember, I'm a newbie so please go easy on me. :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hi everyone! I'm creating my first veggie garden, and I'm in need of a little advice. I want to be able to grow my own herbs and vegetables in order to be able to enjoy my own produce from home, not store bought. What would you guys/girls recommend be the first herbs and vegetables that I could start my new garden with? Remember, I'm a newbie so please go easy on me. :)
Being in 13b you are rather limited in vegetables. You can forget spinach, carrots, broccoli, beets, cauliflower, brussle sprouts, lettuce, most greens and all but cherry type tomatoes. What you can grow are all types of legumes, corn, citrus, herbs, different types of tropical fruits. Also you can grow false spinach know as New Zealand spinach. You can grow swiss chard in your cooler season. Hot peppers will be easy as will tomatillos. Some varieties of squash such as Tatume and okra will be also be easy. There are also certain types of hot weather onions but I can't remember their names. You can grow melons if you have the right type of soil. You can do grains like amaranth. If you look around your farmers markets you will see what can be grown and by sharing on this forum probably things they have never heard of.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
13b
Country
Philippines