Lucky Bamboo Roots Help Please!

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
This is my first time posting here. Hope everyone's doing great.
I didn't know where else to post this so sorry if this is the wrong place but I could really use your help please!

I've been growing a lucky bamboo that I moved from soil to water for over half a year and recently over a few weeks I'm noticing that its roots are turning black.
It's not that they're rotting or anything, I've checked closely and there's no smell or mushiness and the leaves and stem seem healthy.

It's like some sort of black sludge covering the roots but it doesn't seem to come off if I wash it or try to rub it away. At first I didn't worry too much since it didn't come off and the plant seemed healthy otherwise, but I'm now seeing a hint of yellowing on the tip of one of the lower leaves and I'm really worried if something's wrong.

I dunno how to explain it well with words so I've attached some pictures.
U7V05jR.jpg

3UBrIEy.jpg

GmmU8lA.jpg

C9eh6SR.jpg

rk6NMYA.jpg

9WwSUNL.jpg

You will see that there are still some orange parts in the roots and also you can see a sort of dark green outline around the black roots when it's submerged in the water. It just looks like it's covered in slime, but again, it doesn't come off if I try to rub it off.

I didn't try to be too rough with the plant and occasionally just run my fingers through the roots to see if anything comes off and sometimes little bits and pieces come off if I scrub really hard. I've also been changing the water once every week since I first got it and only use boiled filtered water.

I'd really appreciate any advice! I really love this plant and don't want to have anything happen to it if I could prevent it.

A bit of backstory if it helps: