Knot Gardens...or not?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b or 10a
Country
United States
Greetings...
I am new to this gardening forum. I joined in the 'introduction' section and all went well.

Then...I thought I'd share my wasp sting from hell story...but chose 'conversations'. Seemed logical.
Soon realized 'conversations' is akin to private messages. No comment. The good news is that I met a wonderful
new friend who was kind enough to humor me...since I was lost on the forums.

Anyhoo...all that aside. I have a smallish English Knot Garden. Planted it several years ago and have kind of
neglected it. We are all experiencing winter...some people are colder than others. I'm by the sea, in the middle of CA, so we aren't really suffering. I took advantage of a rather nice day about a week ago...to trim the neglected knot garden... and after five whole minutes, the wasp incident happened. Never been stung before. Don't want to be ever again.

So now, I am in a quandary about what to do with this knot garden. I know I probably shouldn't trim it until early Spring, which is pretty nice around here. I have watched videos and read many blogs about the 'over and under' way of trimming and acquiring the illusion of knots. It's been enough years and the boxwoods have grown together, so looking forward to some detailed trimming. The wasp...not sure what to do about that little monster.

Just curious if anyone else has a knot garden? If so, is there any way you can share your pictures? I think that they are fascinating. Formal and yet artsy. Most people plant succulent gardens around here...or palm trees. Not into palm trees. I love pines, but the drought did a number on ours and had to cut it down. I do have the obligatory succulent garden, but trying different things. I have three bags of purple alliums looking at me. They were on sale. Okay, just thought I would ask. Have a great day!!

MaryMary

Quite Contrary
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States