Knotweed

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Can any one tell me how to get rid of this nasty knotweed from my yard, it grows along the side and behind my garage they get over 15ft. high and grow faster than I can cut them down,I've been fighting them for the last 12 years and I'm tried of fighting I just want them gone.
Thanks for any help you can give.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
You mean this stuff?
http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/PESTNOTES/pn7484.html

Have no clue but I suggest finding the website of your state Master Gardener program (should be easy to find online) and asking there. When I lived in Colorado I had an infestation - no other term - of Canadian thistles. I was getting nastygrams and threats of fines from the city and everything I tried to eliminate them just seemed to make it worse. The Master (or in this case Mistress) gardener was incredibly helpful and gave me a strategy that worked. The strategy did involve RoundUp or its equivalent and as I recall you do not like to use commercial preparations and nor do I but IMHO if something is invasive and non-native all bets are off. Nuke it. :)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I did use Round Up last year because I was told it would kill it, Round Up was a waste of money it didn't do a thing. You might be right I'll have to Nuke it.(y)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Can any one tell me how to get rid of this nasty knotweed from my yard, it grows along the side and behind my garage they get over 15ft. high and grow faster than I can cut them down,I've been fighting them for the last 12 years and I'm tried of fighting I just want them gone.
Thanks for any help you can give.