In-experienced gardener needs help

Reaction score
Let me start out by saying that I know precious little about gardening. That being said, I am an intern for a non-profit organization that would like to set up a series of potted plants in an empty playground pit we have behind our building.

The goal is that the plants will provide some greenery to the barren landscape, since we frequently host events in our backyard. They will be around a few picnic tables. We're hoping by adding some greenery potential donors will be more impressed, but we do not have much time or money to spend.

We are in Austin, Tx, and are hoping for plants that do well all year long with our seasons.

Because they are in a sand pit, they have to be plants that can stay potted.

I would really appreciate any advice anyone can give! Feel free to make as many suggestions as you would like!

Reaction score
Sounds like you want plants that will pretty much take care of themselves. Succulents might be a good choice, since they need only infrequent watering. I'm not familiar with the climate of Austin - I imagine it gets pretty hot in the summer, does it get cold in the winter? How much rain and/or snow does it get?

Reaction score
Do I assume when you say potted you mean they will be re-potted into ornimental type pots or literally stay in the pots they were bought in? As in all things it all comes down to finance. Orinimental pots come in all shape sizes and colours, can be moved about to suit the occassion and planted with evergreens, "box" comes to mind which can be trained and trimmed into different shapes, flowering shrubs, and in summer time a vast array of "bedding" plants. The options are endless and you'll probably find some of the staff will want to get involved.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7B