Hydrangea questions

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I live in northern NJ in zone 7a where summers get like 85-90 degrees average. In this case, how many hours of sun will Hydrangea macrophyllas do well on? I looked it up and it said that in the south they bloom well with only 3 hours of sun but idk how "south" NJ is considered. Its technically central but the summers get real hot so just wondering.

Also do they HAVE to be planted near some foundation/fence? Or can they be planted in the middle of nowhere and do fine? All my other plants are already against my house and there is no more space for hydrangeas to be planted near a foundation.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
I'm no hydrangea expert and don't have any but your post made me curious! Never heard of them having to be planted next to a structure...is that for assured shade, maybe?

I have a friend with several hydrangeas, so pretty I took a photo of a bloom last week. :) None of hers are planted next to any sort of structure, and they get maybe an hour or two of direct sun. Mostly dappled shade.
20160727_134634_HDR.jpg

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I'm no hydrangea expert and don't have any but your post made me curious! Never heard of them having to be planted next to a structure...is that for assured shade, maybe?

I have a friend with several hydrangeas, so pretty I took a photo of a bloom last week. :) None of hers are planted next to any sort of structure, and they get maybe an hour or two of direct sun. Mostly dappled shade.View attachment 14564
Well I do have one location in my backyard which gets like a 3-4 hours of sun a day but not near a foundation. I was thinking maybe the foundation would provide macroclimate for the hydrangea and thus would be less vulnerable to winter frost damage but idk, it'd be great if someone knows this for sure.